Friday, April 19, 2024

Heath and Lightnin’ Sweep Drama Awards

The Heath Players and the Lightnin Drama Group swept the boards at the British All-Winners Drama Festival at the Thameside Theatre last night.

Companies from as far afield as Luxembourg came to Thurrock to compete in one of the most highly acclaimed drama festivals in the country.

Praise went to Festival organiser John Scowen and his team who put on a wonderful final night to cap a tremendous week of theatre.

Thanks also went to the Thurrock Thames Gateway Development Coroporation for sponsoring the event.

The winners were:

Full Length Plays

The Mary Blakeman Trophy: Heath Players
The Amateur Stage Trophy:Runners-Up: Stafford Players
Felixstowe Festival Trophy: Heath Players
Sydney Fisher Trophy: Heath Players
Halifax Evening Courier Award: Heath Players

One Act Plays
Irving Trophy: Gadoc
NDFA Council Trophy: St Ursala Players
Amateur Theatre Trophy: Billy Ospreay: Lightnin
Sydney Fisher Trophy: New World Theatre Co. (Lux)
Isle of Man Newspaper Award: Lightnin Drama Group

Youth Section
Nan Nuttal: Lightnin Drama


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles