Friday, March 31, 2023

Weston Super Mare 2 Thurrock 1

Bill Robinson reports from Woodspring Stadium…….

Weston-Super-Mare 2 Thurrock 1

Thurrock had there longest journey of the season when travelling to Woodspring stadium and it will feel even longer on the trip back home after another defeat.

Weston opened the scoring on eighteen minutes when Dale Grubb finished off a move that started back in the Weston half and was made up of 20 plus passes before Grubbs left footed shot beat Mitten at the far post.

Weston doubled there lead direct from a free kick on 32 mins, Adam Gross tripped Kane Ingram which gave the kick away and Martin Slocombe’s free kick floated over keeper Mittens hands.

Thurrock got back into the game when Tamer Tuna collected the ball 12 yards from goal his shot was well saved by Lloyd Irish, but Tuna followed through and was tripped y Brett Trowbridge and the referee awarded a penalty. Dean Cracknell stepped up to take the kick sending the keeper the wrong way to reduce the deficit.

Half Time 2-1

With a couple of early substitutions Joe Carlos coming on for Dean Brennan Thurrock began to look the more dominant and had the greater possession.

Bu as they pushed forward looking for an equaliser they inevitably left gaps at the back which Weston tried to exploit but without success, just a couple of long range efforts.

On eighty minutes Kane Ingram had the best chance for Weston when Thurrock failed to clear an attack the clearance went straight to Ingram who took he ball around Clark before firing his left footed shot high over the bar.

On 84 minutes Tamer Tuna made a great break through the Weston defence but his cross/shot went just wide of Matt Bodkin and the far post.

In added time the impressive Joe Carlos got onto the end of a Leon Lalite cross just 5 yards out but his effort was well blocked by Craig Rand.

The final whistle signalled another defeat for Thurrock who remain firmly rooted at the foot of the league table still without a win in fourteen attempts.

Thurrock: Charlie Mitten, Craig Pope, Phil Anderson, Kenny Clark, Adam Gross, Leon Lalite, Matt Bodkin, Dean Cracknell, Rob Swaine, Dean Brennan, Ben Davisson.

Subs: Lee Flynn, Tamer Tuna, Mike Power, Joe Carlo, Joe Woolley


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles