Thursday, May 30, 2024

April 14 — key election date

PEOPLE wishing to vote in May’s local election and referendum have until 5pm on Thursday, 14 April to apply for a postal ballot pack.

Postal ballot packs will be sent out during the following week (starting on Monday, 18 April).

Thursday, April 14 is also the last chance for people to register to vote — any registration applications received after this date will be too late for the election and referendum on 5 May.

Voters are reminded to check their polling card — being delivered from this week (starting 28 March) to see where their polling station is. Two stations have changed since last year and some residents will be directed to different stations in their ward.

All eligible voters in Thurrock will be able to take part in the referendum on the UK Parliamentary voting system, however local elections will be taking place in only 16 of the council’s 20 wards.

There will be a referendum only in the Little Thurrock Blackshots, Orsett, South Chafford and Tilbury St Chad’s wards.

Local elections and the referendum will be taking place in the following wards: Aveley and Uplands, Belhus, Chadwell St Mary, Chafford and North Stifford, Corringham and Fobbing, East Tilbury, Grays Riverside, Grays Thurrock, Little Thurrock Rectory, Ockendon, Stanford East and Corringham Town, Stanford le Hope West, Stifford Clays, The Homesteads, Tilbury Riverside and Thurrock Park, and West Thurrock and South Stifford.

Previous article
Next article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles