Monday, July 22, 2024

Nominations announced for Thurrock film festival

Here is the official selection and nominations for the 2012 festival.

The Festival will run from Sunday 24th – Saturday 30th June 2012.

The full week’s itinerary includes screenings, workshops and talks, and will close with an awards ceremony where the winning films in each category (Fiction, Documentary, Animation, Music Video, Experimental, Under 16, International, Foreign Language and Student) plus awards for Best Performance, Best Editing, Best Direction, Best in Festival (one of the winners of the categories) and Audience Choice will be announced.

Tickets for events can be bought from the Thameside Theatre Box Office (individual events £3, festival pass £28).

Over the next six weeks, we will showcasing some of the films nominated.

Nominated for Best Fiction:

Spoilt Broth – Dir. Toby Roberts
Birdie – Dir. Rhys Fullerton
Feet – Dir. A.D. Cooper
Buddy – Dir. Darren Field
Room Service – Dir. Klaus Fried

Also Selected for screening:

End – Dir. Tom Gatley
Sunny Boy – Dir. Jane Gull
Stay With Me – Dir. Mike Bellinger & Rich Franklin
A Cup Of Chocolate – Dir. Pendar Sweeney
Bubbles – Dir. Leyla Pope

Judged by Pat Higgins and Jason Flemyng

Nominated for Best Documentary:

Stranger Than Fiction – Dir. Leigh Rodgers
Vakha & Magomed – Dir. Marta Prus
Swarez – Dir. Andrew Cheng

Also Selected for screening:

Boyz Club – Dir. Jules Philippi
La Madre De Caduti – Dir. Armen Deghkhadirian
Judged by Terry Notary

Nominated for Best International/Foreign Language:

Things My Father Never Taught Me – Dir. Burleigh Smith
Buon Giorno Sayoniara – Dir. Karen Hope
King Of Life – Dir. Beaumont Loewenthal

Also Selected for screening:

Beijo de Morena – Dir. Edilberto Restino
Hidden Thoughts – Dir. Mustafa Boga

Judged by Wendy Schaal

Nominated for Best Animation:

Three Little Pigs – Dir. Irene Jihyun Kim
Art of Play – Dir. Art of Play
People and Machines – Dir. Xuefei Chi

Also Selected for screening:

Prelude – Dir. Catherine O’Kane
The Adventure – Dir. I-Ling Wang

Judged by – Vic Gray

Under 16
Nominated for Best Under 16
Assumption – Dir. Alfie Barker
Boxed In – Dir. Sean Goddard
Never Say Never – Dir. Jennifer Welsh

Also Selected for screening:

Imagine – Dir. Alfie Barker
The Googille Invasion – Dir. Kids For Kids UK
Rockbound – Dir. Jack Drum Arts

Judged by – Pauline Qurike

Nominated for Best Student:

Behind The Screens – Dir. Julie D. Dunn (The Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama)
Dear Katie – Dir. Emily Wilson, Paul Hampton, Adam Bird & Charlotte Webb (Palmer’s College)
Relavence – Dir. Kyle Wilson & Anna Antonowicz (Dundee University)
No Thoughts – Dir. Cyrille Bourdeaux (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor)
Autumn Leaves – Dir. Lee Barham (University of Falmouth)

Also Selected for screening:

The Soldier Inside – Dir. Jem Mehmet (Ravensborne)
The Persinger Pentangle – Dir. Matthew Travis (Sheffield Hallam University)

Judged by – Steven Yuen

Music Video
Nominated for Best Music Video:

This Is Pop! – Dir. James Kavanagh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles