Monday, December 5, 2022

Festival’s sequel is smash hit!

THE second Thurrock International Film Festival finished on Saturday 28th September with a glamorous awards ceremony where filmmakers received trophies and prizes.

The festival received 250 short films from 35 countries and the best were selected for screening, and of those the best few were sent to the celebrity judging panel which this year included Frances Fisher, Alfred Molina, Iain Glen and Brian Blessed.

Two Thurrock filmmakers received awards; Jonathan Harrold who is about to commence an MA won Best Student Film with ‘Oh Messy Life’ and James Kavanagh won Best Music Video/Experimental Film for the second year in a row for ‘Tour Of The Glass Factory’.

Every filmmaker in attendance received a voucher for one year’s free editing software, Lightworks, courtesy of Editshare. Two winning filmmakers received prizes donated by Editshare and the company also gave an editing presentation to Palmer’s College students.

Throughout the week there were numerous events including special screenings of The Rocky Horror Picture Show, to which most of the audience dressed up, The Sound of Music (which came with free tea and biscuits) and Dirty Dancing.

Most events were held at the Thameside Theatre and the organisers have already stated they will return for a third year. “Within two days of this festival finishing we had settled on next year’s dates.” Said organiser Ben.

“We get such great feedback from audiences and filmmakers, Thurrock is fast becoming a known and renowned festival. We had a filmmaker travel from America specifically for the festival because her film was nominated and she ended up taking home the Audience Choice award.” Said co-organiser Natalie.

For up-to-date news on the festival, follow it on its website twitter @thurrock_film or

Full List of Winning Films:
Best Student Film – ‘Oh Messy Life’ by Jonathan Harrold
Best Under 18 Film – ‘Cycles’ by Jason Bartlett
Best Documentary Film – ‘She Want Soul’ by Sameer Patel
Best International Film – ‘División Azul’ by Sergi Marti
Best Animated Film – ‘Jamon’ by Iria Lopez
Best Music Video/Experimental Film – ‘Tour Of The Glass Factory’ by James Kavanagh
Best Fiction Film – ‘Night In A Hotel’ by Daniel Kontur
Best Editing Award – Joe McGowan for ‘Frank’
Best Direction Award – Daniel Kontur for ‘’Night In A Hotel’
Audience Choice Winner – ‘Kerry And Angie’ by Amanda Melby
Best In Festival – ‘The Loudest Minds’ by John Grey


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles