Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Speedway: Hammers go down in Lee Richardson Memorial Trophy

BRILLIANT British youngster Zach Wajtknecht has already formed a formidable partnership with Ben Morley at Lakeside.
Bristol-based Wajtknecht, who is also racing for Premiership side Swindon this season, dropped just one points to an opposing rider over two meetings with Eastbourne on Good Friday.

Sadly for the Vortex Hammers, they didn’t have enough strength in depth to win the Lee Richardson Memorial Trophy despite a home win in the opening meeting of the season at the Arena-Essex Raceway which pulled in a bumper crowd.

The leading duo piled up a paid total of 58-points over the two meetings but Hammers missed out to a stronger lower Eagles order.
Said Wajtknecht: “For me to drop only one point over two meetings is very, very pleasing.
“Ben was brilliant too, we scored a lot of points between us for the team and it’s a great way for me to start the National League season.
“I’m fairly happy with my start to the season overall, now I have to keep it going.”
Hammers go to Kent in more challenge action on Monday (3pm) before the return at Arena-Essex next Friday at 8pm.


LAKESIDE 48: Ben Morley 15, Zach Wajtknecht 13+2, David Mason 11, Nick Laurence 3, Ryan MacDonald 2+1, Alfie Bowtell 2+1, George Hunter 2.
EASTBOURNE 42: Tom Brennan 9+2, Matt Bates 9, Georgie Wood 8, Mark Baseby 7, Connor Coles 4+4, Charley Powell 3+1, Kelsey Dugard 2+1.


EASTBOURNE 51: Tom Brennan 10+1, Georgie Wood 9, Connor Coles 8+2, Mark Baseby 7, Charley Powell 6+3, Matt Bates 6+1, Kelsey Dugard 5+2.
LAKESIDE 39: Zach Wajtknecht 14, Ben Morley 12+2, Alfie Bowtell 7, George Hunter 2+1, David Mason 2+1, Nick Laurence 2, Ryan MacDonald 0.
Eastbourne win 93-87 on aggregate


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles