Friday, June 2, 2023

Dockers Destroyed

Tilbury Team

Potters Bar Town 4 Tilbury 0

Buildbase FA Trophy Preliminary Round

Report by Anthony Mercer

Tilbury’s dismal recent run continued at Potters Bar Town on Saturday as the Dockers excited the FA Trophy at the first hurdle, losing the game 4-0. The result also saw manager Gary Henty decide to step down in his role as manager. 

Captain Jack Carlile returned to the side and striker Michael Salako starting his first game of the season. 

Both sides started brightly. The home sides Andy Lomas had the first effort on 3 minutes that went just over. In the  19th minute  Lee O’Leary cut inside and hit wide. 

Then in the 20th minute Potters Bar took the lead when Michael Murray saw his left footed effort fly home. The home side continued to push as they started to dominate and just before half time were awarded a penalty. Murray again took his penalty well, despite Clarke Bogard getting his hands to the ball. 

Potters Bar confirmed there progress on 54 minutes when a cross from the left shot across goal for Billy Lobjoit to slot home at the back post. 

On 67 minutes Potters Bar were reduced to ten men when George Nicholas saw red for an ugly challenge on Lewis Jaggs that saw a delay in the game of over 5 minutes. With 8 minutes to go Potters Bar were awarded a free kick 20 yards out and Billy Lobjoit smashed the direct free kick into the roof of the net for a fine effort. .  

The result sees Tilbury exit the FA Trophy for the second successive year at the Preliminary Round. 


Tilbury are back in action on Tuesday, when Cheshunt come to Chadfields. Under 23 manager John Sussex will be in temporary charge.

Potters Bar Town: Berkley Laurencin, Billy Baird, Andrew Lomas, Lee O’Leary, Steve Brown, Chris Doyle, Billy Lobjoit (David Sota 85′), Billy Adcock, Michael Murray (Steven Benavides-Martinez 70′), George Nicholas, Eoin Casey.

Scorers – Michael Murray (21′, 45’p), Billy Lobjoit (54′, 82′)

Tilbury: Clarke Bogard, George Pullen, Aaron Waters, Siju Odelusi, Joe Turpin, Lewis Jaggs (Bryan Kyungu 67′), Michael Salako (Emiel Aiken 59′), Jack Carlile (Kyan Gulliver 31′), Adam Vyse, Ryan Melaugh, Luke Hornsley.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles