Thursday, June 1, 2023

Thurrock’s finest praised at Education Awards

Ed 5

Ed 4

Ed 2

Lorna Hamilton

THE fourth annual Thurrock Education Awards were held at the Civic Hall, Grays on Friday night (10 November).

Winners in 14 categories were announced on the evening, which also featured speeches from Cllr James Halden, Portfolio Holder for Education, and Andrew Bowen of DP World London Gateway – the main sponsor of the Thurrock Education Awards.

The host Lorna Hamilton, Headteacher of ORTU Corringham Primary, was also named winner of the Headteacher of the Year in Primary Education.

The Outstanding Contribution to Education in Thurrock Award went to the former Chair of Governors at Somers Heath Primary, Graham Allen for his many years of service.

Speaking after the awards presentation, Cllr James Halden, Portfolio Holder for Education, said: “I am continually blown away by our teachers, support staff, governors and early years practitioners.

“As I said in my speech, I am immensely proud of the achievements of Thurrock school over the past year – 98% of our schools are ‘good’ or ‘outstanding’, more children than ever got their first choice school place this September, and only 2% of our young people are not in education, employment or training.

“The strong relationship between the council and schools is paying dividends for our young people. Those who we have celebrated tonight go above and beyond on a daily basis and we should rightly recognise their achievements.

“These heroes of education represent a handful of the endless excellence we have the length and breadth of the borough.

“I want to thank all the sponsors who made the evening possible and all the officers involved in producing a fabulous event.”

Lorna 4

Ed 91

Ed 9

Ed 8

The full list of winners

Outstanding early years practitioner – Tracey Lempriere, Willow Garden Day Nursery

Outstanding new teacher – Tracy Rowe, Stifford Clays Primary School

Aspiring leader – Jamie Stephens, Chadwell St Mary Primary School

Creative teaching and learning – Bianca Brand, Kenningtons Primary Academy

Education support – Maggie Woodfield, Ormiston Park Academy

Excellence in English and/or maths – St Clere’s Maths Department, St Clere’s School

Excellence in science and technologies – Team Science, St Clere’s School

Inspiring career opportunity – Logistics Academy, Port of Tilbury

Governor, governing body or trust – Steve Smith, Belmont Castle Academy

Teacher of the year in primary education, special education or alternative provision – Kate Poppy, Beacon Hill Academy

Teacher of the year in secondary education, special education, alternative or post-16 provision – Lucie Burrow, Grays Convent High School

Head teacher of the year in primary education – Lorna Hamilton, ORTU Corringham Primary School

Head teacher of the year in secondary education, special education, alternative or post-16 provision – Sue Hewitt, Beacon Hill Academy, and Ashlie Hughes, St Clere’s School

Outstanding contribution to education in Thurrock – Graham Allen, Somers Heath Primary School, former Chair of the Governing Body


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles