Monday, September 26, 2022

Vote for new Thurrock Heritage Plaques


New Thurrock Heritage Plaques

As part of the Thurrock Local History Society’s HLF funded project, there will be new Thurrock Heritage plaques voted for by the public. An extensive “long list” of possible candidates nominated by various individuals, was whittled down to a short list of five by a panel of three people – Hazel Sacco, Thurrock’s Heritage Officer;
Mike Ostler, Chairman of the Thurrock Heritage Forum and Susan Yates, Chairman of the Thurrock Local History Society. The possible recipients for a new plaque are:

• Margaret Jones – director of the Mucking Archaeological excavations;
• Kate Luard – highly decorated nurse who served in the Boer and Great War;
• William Palin – vicar of Stifford and author of the first local history book exclusively about a
part of Thurrock
• William Palmer – Lord of the Manor of Grays and founder of Palmer’s College
• Gordon Steele VC – Naval officer and Old Palmerian awarded the VC

The Society’s web-site has more information about each of the candidates – http://www.thurrock-

There will be a public vote and the man and woman receiving the most votes will each have a plaque. A third new plaque will be chosen by the panel.

Votes may be cast in one of the following ways.

In person at the April meeting of the Thurrock Local History Society on 20th April;

On-line; By e-mail to;

On the Thurrock Local History Society Facebook page;

On Twitter @ThurrockHistory;

Or by post to:
Susan Yates, Thurrock Museum, Thameside Complex, Orsett Road,
Grays, RM17 5DX


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles