Sunday, January 29, 2023

Thurrock Council Elections 2019

Thurrock Elections 2019

THURROCK Council has officially announced this year’s local election which will be held on Thursday, 2 May 2019.

The notice of election was published today (Friday, 22 March). Nominations to stand as a candidate close at 4pm on Wednesday, 3 April.

Polling cards will be delivered to eligible electors between Friday, 22 March and Sunday, 31 March. The poll card is for information only, it is not required to vote.

Four wards – Little Thurrock Blackshots, Orsett, South Chafford and Tilbury St Chads – have no local council elections on that day. In each election only a third of councillors in the borough stand, which means these two-councillor wards will not be contested this time.

For the wards that are being contested, one candidate will be elected per ward apart from in Chadwell St Mary where two candidates will be elected following the resignation of Councillor Barbara Rice which has created an additional vacancy.

If you have not yet registered to vote you have until midnight on Friday, 12 April to apply. You can apply online at or by calling 01375 652 816.

Anyone who requires a postal vote should contact the elections office at or by calling 01375 652 816. The deadline for applications to vote by post is 5pm on Monday, 15 April.

Applications for proxy votes should be made by 5pm on Wednesday, 24 April. To apply email or by calling 01375 652 816.

For details of the wards and seats that are up for election this May, go to


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles