Wednesday, February 8, 2023

Football: East Thurrock retain Robin Nash Trophy

Report courtesy of Tilbury FC

EAST Thurrock retained the Robin Nash Trophy, with a goal feast at Rookery Hill on Tuesday, with the final four goals coming in a six minute period.

Tilbury took the lead on 28 when George Sykes scored a fine individual goal past Jack Giddens, before an equaliser 10 minutes later from Ryan Scott. Just before the break, former Docker Mitchell Gilbey slotted home.

Screenshot 2019-08-07 at 10.08.50

Both sides had good chances before a glut of goals livened the game up.

On 74 Warren Thomas found the net, before Ben Marlow scored 4 minutes later, to make it 4-1.

Manager Marc Harrison made changes and Tilbury went on to the attack. On 80 substitute Ola Ogunwamide ran into the box, beating 2 defenders to fire home. Straight from the kick off Ogunwamide was off again, but this time was upended in the box and George Sykes made it a nervous time by scoring to make it 4-3. In the final few minutes Daniel Cheema went close.

At the final whistle Tilbury Chairman Daniel Nash presented the Robin Nash Trophy to East Thurrock United manager John Coventry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles