Friday, December 8, 2023

Freedom of the Borough honour bestowed to three clergymen across Thurrock

THE Freedom of the Borough has been awarded to three local clergymen at a special event this week.

Reverend John Guest, Canon Brian O’Shea and the late Father Paul Dynan were awarded the prestigious honour on Thursday 30 September by Cllr Sue Shinnick, Mayor of Thurrock.

Cllr Shinnick said “The Freedom of the Borough is an incredibly rare honour that has only been bestowed upon a small number of people in our community over the past 40 years.

“The pandemic has delayed us delivering this extraordinary honour in person, but I have the great privilege of sharing this symbol of gratitude on behalf of everyone in Thurrock with them. Together we thank them for their invaluable contributions to our borough’s civic and pastoral community and the dedication that’s gone into serving Thurrock and its residents.”

Michael and Jay Dynan, who accepted the award on behalf of the late Father Paul Dynan, Reverend John Guest and Canon Brian O’Shea attended the event at South Essex College in Grays.

The Deputy Mayor of Thurrock, Cllr James Halden, was also in attendance at the event. He said: “This award speaks to the testament of these three great men and the fantastic work they’ve done to achieve the Freedom of the Borough. By recognising their outstanding contribution to our community with this esteemed award we can ensure they remain an inspiration to us all.”

The Freedom of the Borough is the highest honour a council can bestow and has previously been awarded to:

· The Thurrock Branch of the Burma Association – 26 November 2008

· Port of Tilbury Police – 25 September 2002

· Mrs Dorothy Coker – 26 September 2001

· Royal Anglian Regiment – 18 July 1990

· 215 Essex Squadron – 28 June 1986


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles