Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Sudbury 28 v 23 Thurrock

Thurrock slipped to their first league defeat at mid table Sudbury who throughout the game showed much more desire than their visitors. Thurrock went quickly behind to an unconverted try but came back into the game with penalty from Aaron Burns. The game at this stage was strewn with penalties and neither team were able to get the acts together. A fine chip across field from Ian Rudgley was fielded by Nat Farrell who looked likely to score in the corner but fine covering by the home side No8 stopped him short of the line and was the penalised for holding on to the ball. Thurrock then took the lead when Burns added another penalty to lead 6-5 at the break in what was a forgettable first half in which Thurrock also lost Captain Rob Batho who sustained a knee injury, replaced by Lee Herrington making his first appearance for over 10 years

Thurrock extended their lead direct from the kick off when Sudbury were offside and Burns added the extra, but it was short lived as Sudbury scored another try to regain the advantage. The match slightly improved as a spectacle as Thurrock bounced back and scored a try from Darryl Worster wide out; Burns added the extra conversion points. Thurrock then endured their worst spell of the season, conceding a try and penalty, and getting their second yellow card when Dave Stevens was sent the bin, matching fellow prop Ben Partridge who earlier had an enforced 10 minute break, to add insult to injury the reversed penalty for Stevens indiscretion, was converted to extend the home sides lead.

Then a fortunate bounce when the ball kicked forward allowed the Sudbury winger to score under the posts, and the conversion see the home side now 12 pts clear, but to Thurrock’s credit Ben Stanley finished off a well worked try under the posts, Burns added the two points, Thurrock had less than a minute to grab any score but when a the ball was spilled as they went on the attack, it was all too late.

Team Darryl Worster, Neil Wakefield , Ben Stanley, Earl Gorman, Nathan Farrell, Ian Rudgely, Aaron Burns, Dave Stevens, Dan Carey, Ben Partridge, Andy Kettleton, Aaron Woodward, Ben Timson, Rob Batho, Adisuan Leebumrung, Rep: Sonny Gay, Elliott Keefe, Lee Herrington

This week Thurrock entertain CHELMSFORD at Oakfield


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles