Monday, December 4, 2023

They’re Off!

Prime Minister Gordon Brown, flanked by members of his cabinet in Downing Street, has called the UK General Election for 6 May.

Over the next thirty days, all the candidates across the UK will be fighting what is anticipated to be one of the closest elections for decades.

So far the candidates, who have declared in the two constituencies on yourthurrock’ s patch are:

South Basildon and East Thurrock: Conservative: Stephen Metcalfe; Labour: Angela Smith; Lib Dem: Geoff Williams; UK Independence Party: Kerry Smith; BNP: Chris Roberts.

The Tories need a swing of only 1.1% to take the seat from Angela Smith who has been there since 1997.

Thurrock: Conservative: Jackie Doyle-Price; Labour: Carl Morris; Lib Dem: Carys Davis; UK Independence Party: Clive Broad; BNP: Emma Colgate

Although we intend to bring a 24/7 coverage of the election, we don’t intend to smother the site with political coverage. We will try to get the balance right.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles