Sunday, December 10, 2023

Another Top Thurrock Tory Defects

FORMER Mayor, Cllr Ian Harrison has joined Mayor Anne Cheale and Stuart St-Clair Haslam and left the Thurrock Conservative Group.

YourThurrock understands that the Corringham and Fobbing councillor has also quit the Basildon South and East Thurrock Conservative Association.

The move comes shortly after the decision was made to “restructure” the Association, removing Corringham and Fobbing as a discreet association.

Tory insiders believe that Cllr Harrison’s decision to remove himself from the council chamber when Mayor Anne Cheale moved a vote of no confidence in the Tory leader, Garry Hague was the tipping point in a “35-year feud” between various Tory factions in the borough.

YourThurrock asked councillor Harrison to confirm that he had quit the Group but he would only say: “No comment”.

Whether he will join Mayor Cheale and Councillor St-Clair-Haslam in the Concerned Conservatives Group remain to be seen.

It leaves the political balance of the chamber as follows: Labour 22, Conservatives 21, Independent 2, Concerned Conservatives 2, BNP 1 and Ian Harrison.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles