Aveley 0 v 2 Bury

TWO GOALS in four second half minutes proved the difference as Aveley slipped to defeat at home to highflying Bury Town reports Colin Mumford

Things started brightly for the Millers and return of Orlando Smith on the wing for the home side, saw a lot of potential for Aveley.

But Mitchell Stuart-Evans, on debut after signing from AFC Hornchurch earned his marching orders for two bookings in the first half which pretty much put paid to their chances.

Another debutant gave the home side a promising start, with Les Thompson pacing past the onrushing Bury keeper Marcus Garnham, but when squaring to Josh Llewellyn his fellow striker was dispossessed.

Stuart-Evans was initially booked after 23 minutes after being adjudged to have warranted a booking when tackling Craig Nurse.

And he was then given his marching orders after bringing down Sam Reed, for Millers second sending off in as many league matches, after Spencer Harrison’s dismissal just before half-time against Wealdstone, which resulted in another 2-0 loss.

Dave McCartney kept the hosts in the game just before the break when he tipped over Nurse’s shot for a corner.

But any plans Carl Griffiths and his management team had at the break went out of the window in the 49th minute when Ryan Andrews ended up firing into his own net.

And only two minutes later the Suffolk visitors were home and dry when a corner from the left was flicked on at the near post, with the ball eventually falling to Lee Reed who found the finish.

The Millers continued to plug away but had little to shout about in the second half in terms of chances.

Bury had further chances to add to their lead through Sam Reed and substitute Scott Chaplin, both turning and shooting goalwards only to see their efforts fall wide of the post.

Neil Andrews could have rounded off a fine all-round display when he found himself unmarked in the box in the dying minutes only to see his glancing header come back off the post with McCartney rooted to the spot.

Aveley: Dave McCartney, Ryan Andrews, Charlie Read, Tony Russell, Mitchell Stuart-Evans, Jason Mason, Jerome Ingram, Andy Howell, Les Thompson (Abs Thompson 53), Josh Llewellyn, Orlando Smith (Patrick Layiwola 79)
Sub not used: Tommy Cummings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.