Thurrock 1 v 3 Borehamwood

Thurrock 1 Boreham Wood 3
Blue Square Bet South

Bill Robinson reports from Ship Lane…….

A disappointing result in a so called six-pointer relegation battle for The Fleet, having picked up only two points from their last five games and sitting just one place above the relegation zone the new management team will need to work there magic when the travel to Dorchester on Saturday for another battle.

Thurrock had a changed back four with Captain Craig Pope out, Lee Flyn injured and Paul Olima suspended they had to reshuffle their squad bringing in new signing Lynval Duncan.

Thurrock had the better of the opening exchanges but it was the visitors who opened the scoring, the goal came on fifthteen minutes when a poor back pass was intercepted by Elliott Godfrey who had the simple task of rounding keeper Woolley and planting the ball into the open goal.

Thurrock still looked more than capable of recovering from the set back but then in the 37th minute Boreham Wood were awarded a penalty, Rob Swaine was adjudged to have fouled Greg Morgan inside the eighteen yard area, up stepped Mario Noto to face Joe Woolley from 12 yards, Joe made a fine one handed save but Noto followed up to put the ball into the net.

At the start of the second half Manager Grant Gordon replaced David Knight with debutant Freddie Ladapo and Joao Carlos with Reece Harris.

The changes made an impact just four minutes into the half, the move built up on the left flank with Harris and Dean Cracknell working hard to get the ball wide on the by line, Cracknell’s cross came in low and hard and running onto it was Freddie Ladapo who flicked the ball with the inside of his heel and into the far corner of the net.

Joe Woolley kept the Fleet in the game pulling of two fines saves but the on 62 minutes Woolley had to race out to clear with his head but unfortunately his header landed just right for Elliot Godfrey to side foot a lop volley over the defence and into the empty net.

Reece Harris came close for Thurrock on 86 minutes when once again Cracknell and Ladapo all worked well together allowing Harris to fire in a fierce left footed shot that keeper Foderingham manager to divert around the post for a corner.

Thurrock : Joe Woolley, Kenny Clark, Rob Swaine, Lynval Duncan, Marlon Patterson, Dean Cracknell, Matt Bodkin, TJ Sie, Joao Carlos, Jamie Richards, David Knight
Subs: Reece Harris, Shane Scanlon, Freddie Ladapo, Tom Murphy, Lee Hodges

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.