Tuesday, July 23, 2024

Information for election day on May 5th

VOTERS will be able to go to the polls across Thurrock on Thursday, 5 May, this year for local elections and the referendum.

A national referendum on the way we vote will be held in every ward and council elections are due in all but four of Thurrock’s 20 wards.

The areas which do not have local council elections scheduled for this year are: Little Thurrock Blackshots, Orsett, South Chafford, and Tilbury St Chad’s.

Voters are being urged to check their polling station details on their polling card. Two stations have changed since last year and some residents will be directed to different stations in their ward.

New polling stations will be in the South Chafford and the Ockendon wards.

If you are considering standing in this year’s council elections, an informal meeting will be held at the Civic Offices in New Road, Grays, at 5pm on Thursday, 17 March. Anybody interested in attending should contact the Electoral Services Manager on 01375 652580.

Details of all the borough’s polling stations are available on Thurrock Council’s website (www.thurrock.gov.uk) via the A to Z and following links from Electoral Services.

Polling cards — which do not have to be taken to the station unless you are an anonymous elector — will be delivered from 28 March.

Other dates to note in the run up to the election include: Thursday, 14 April, last date to register for a postal vote (5pm) and last date to register to vote (midnight); and Thursday, 21 April, last date to apply for a proxy vote.

Postal vote packs will be sent out in the week starting Monday, 18 April.

On polling day itself, Thursday, 5 May, polling stations will open at 7am and close at 10pm. No ballot papers will be issued after this time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles