Spring bin collection dates

SPRING is a time when there are many Bank Holidays — and this year there’s an extra one too.

These can play havoc with resident’s bin-collection dates and this week Thurrock Council has announced how Bank Holidays will affect collection dates all the way through to the summer.

These include Easter (April 22 and 25), The Royal Wedding (April 29), May Day (2 May), Spring Bank Holiday (30 May) and August Bank Holiday (29 August).

Thurrock Council will be collecting waste and recycling on Saturdays during these periods to reduce disruption.

The council’s waste team would also like to offer a huge “Thank-You” to residents for keeping a careful eye on what they recycle. The contamination rate has fallen from nearly 20 per cent last year, to around five per cent — keep up the good work.

Are you certain what goes where in Thurrock’s recycling system. Go to the council’s Waste and Recycling page on-line (www.thurrock.gov.uk/waste/) and you can check out a list of 300 examples as well as a load of other useful information.

The list of date changes is below, starting from Good Friday.

Friday 22 April will be changed to Tuesday 26 April
Monday 25 April will be changed to Wednesday 27 April
Tuesday 26 April will be changed to Thursday 28 April
Wednesday 27 April will be changed to Saturday 30 April
Thursday 28 April will be changed to Tuesday 3 May
Bank Holiday Friday 29 April will be changed to Wednesday 4 May
Monday 2 May will be changed to Thursday 5 May
Tuesday 3 May will be changed to Friday 6 May
Wednesday 4 will be changed to May Saturday 7 May
Thursday 5 May will be changed to Monday 9 May
Friday 6 May will be changed to Tuesday 10 May
Monday 9 May will be changed to Wednesday 11 May
Tuesday 10 May will be changed to Thursday 12 May
Wednesday 11 will be changed to May Friday 13 May
Thursday 12 May will be changed to Saturday 14 May
Friday 13 May will be changed to Monday 16 May
Monday 16 May will be changed to Tuesday 17 May
Tuesday 17 May will be changed to Wednesday 18 May
Wednesday 18 May will be changed to Thursday 19 May
Thursday 19 May will be changed to Friday 20 May
Friday 20 May will be changed to Saturday 21 May
23 to 27 May, normal collections
Monday 30 May will be changed to Tuesday 31 May
Tuesday 31 May will be changed to Wednesday 1 June
Wednesday 1 June will be changed to Thursday 2 June
Thursday 2 June will be changed to Friday 3 June
Friday 3 June will be changed to Saturday 4 June
Normal collections resume on Monday, 6 June.
Monday 29 August will be changed to Tuesday 30 August
Tuesday 30 August will be changed to Wednesday 31 August
Wednesday 31 August will be changed to Thursday 1 September
Thursday 1 September will be changed to Friday 2 September
Friday 2 September will be changed to Saturday 3 September
Normal collections resume on Monday, 5 September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.