Saturday, February 24, 2024

Shortlist for Thurrock Civic Awards announced

THE nominations have been checked, the initial judging completed and now the shortlisted people informed — the Thurrock Civic Awards 2011 are well underway.

The big date now is Friday, 30 September, when the winners will be announced, but on Tuesday (12 July) all nominees for the tenth awards were invited to meet Mayor of Thurrock, Cllr Charlie Curtis, at the Civic Offices in New Road, Grays.

There are 21 nominated people or groups spread over eight different categories.

Also at last Tuesday’s event were members of the judging panel and some of the event’s sponsors.

Chair of the panel, Cllr Val Morris-Cook, said afterwards: “These awards give us, the people of Thurrock, a chance to say ‘thank-you’ to just some of the many fellow residents — young and old — who go that extra step.

“Judging these awards is always incredibly difficult and moving. Every single one of those nominated deserves something; every single one of those shortlisted is a winner and every single one of those who win in September will be wonderful ambassadors for Thurrock.”

The 2011 award categories are: Citizen of Thurrock, sponsored by Petroplus; the Young Citizen of Thurrock, sponsored by the Port of Tilbury; Business Award, sponsored by Thurrock Council; Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by RWE npower; Sports Award, sponsored by the Thurrock Enquirer; the Leisure and Culture Award, sponsored by Morrison FS Ltd; the Rachel Middleton Memorial Award, sponsored by Econogas; and the Mayor’s Award, sponsored by the Port of Tilbury. Europa and Lakeside Shopping Centre are sponsoring the overall event.

On Friday, 30 September, the black tie Thurrock Civic Awards 2011 evening will be held at the Civic Hall, Blackshots Lane, Grays.

The nominees are: Dawn Bareham; Calum Farrow-Guy; Aaron Foster; Vic Gray; Demus Lee; Chelsea Massarella; Kayleigh Merchant; Sophie Myner; Paul Newbury; Grace Ogunsanya; Jimmy Payne; Terry Piccolo; Max Pryor; Amy Rice; Karl Scott; Sandra Shamp; Richard Smith; Luz Tacon (deceased) and represented by her daughter Georgina Kouvaras; Jan Thurnell; the Year 8 Rugby Team from St Clere’s School; and the Board of Directors of Thurrock Lifestyle Solutions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles