Saturday, July 13, 2024

Thurrock Drama Festival Awards

SO the 18th Thurrock Drama Festival comes to a close and we hope that you have enjoyed our coverage of this excellent event. Sad to say we appear to be the only media covering this event which is a highlight in the Thurrock Arts Council year.

This is an event which needs an audience to survive and the tragedy is the standard of entertainment is so high and the effort made by so many talented people is missed by the Thurrock public. If you want to retain this festival and the theatre in general then you have to show support.

The standard was very high this year with four plays fighting for the Best Play Honours. A nice set of rewards though for all three plays. Bejou productions took the honours and deservedly so but excellent efforts by Thurrock Courts Players, AD Hoc and Stageability.

It will be Thurrock Courts Players though who go through to the National Finals at Blackburn on the 7th July

In the one act plays Lightnin’ Drama pulled off another fabulous performance and again walked away with many awards.

Adjudicator Paul Fowler had a difficult choice making his awards and this writer agreed with most of his decisions . So onto next year and we can only hope that the theatre is as packed every night as it was last night

Incidentally we were treated to a Rap by John Scowen “the brains and driving force ” behind the festival plays

Full Length

Best play :Shining City
Runner up :How the Other Half Loves
Best actor :Jeremy Battersby
Best presentation :The Government Inspector
Best actress :Joanne Masters
Best director: John White
Best lighting: Bijou productions
Bets supporting actress:Victoria Grayling
Best supporting actor: Wayne Prince

One act
Best original play :Sue Ospreay
Support actress: Annie Elsley
Supporting actor: William Ospreay
Best actor: Neil Gray
Best actress: Helen Castle
Best director: Sue Ospreay
Best play: A Bit of a Boob
Best youth play: Two much punch for judy
Festival award: Vic Gray
Adjudicators award :Kevin Hynes
Best comedy performance: Sue Ospreay
Most promising young actor: Andrew Steel
Carrillo best youth: Tanya MacPherson


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles