Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Praise for Yash as he steps down as chair of Thurrock Asian Association

THURROCK ASIAN ASSOCIATION held its Annual General Meeting on Sunday 9th September, 2012 at the Asian Resource Centre, 35 Clarence Road, Grays from 5.30 to 7 pm.

A number of local residents including members of the Association participated in the proceedings. The secretary read out last year’s minutes of the meeting and the accounts for last year were approved by the members.

Yash Gupta president of the Association presented his detailed report and highlighted the achievements of the past year. He thanked every one for their help and support including the Thurrock Council, local councillors, PCT, TRUST and the Thurrock CVS.

1.Steady increase in Membership; from 272 to 317 which shows the increasing popularity of the Association amongst local residents.

2. Celebrations of various community events such as DIWALI; Baisakhi; Queens Diamond Jubilee; Olympic Torch Replay. These events help to strengthen community relationships amongst various groups.

3.The Healthy Living Programme is now well supported by a number of new comers; newly started group learning healthy Tai Chai has become very popular. The Yoga Class on Saturday is also well supported,

4.The weekly Women’s and Men’s Groups are also attracting new members.

5.Increase in number of visits by people to the Drop In Centre; 7060 visits were recorded last year which showed an increase of 5% compared from last year.

6. Music classes for young children and older people are still continuing in the Resource Centre.

7. Young Naplese Children learn their mother tongue in a class at the Centre. The Naplese community holds its meetings in the Centre. Also the Phillpino community meets regularly in the Centre.

8. The small gym and the Library books are also good attractions for the local residents.

The new committee was elected.

After serving for 14 years Mr. Gupta decided not to stand as the President because of his heavy committments as the Mayor of the Borough. Mr K Mitra was unanimously elected President. Mr. K Chadha was elected Secretary and Mr. N Nuthoo was elected as honourary Treasurer. Mr M. Attwal re-elected Vice President and Meena Mitra and Diljot Gulshan remained Cultural Secretaries. Three new committee members were added as well.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles