Candidates announced for Aveley By-Election

THE candidates for December’s by election in the Aveley and Uplands ward have been announced following the closure of nominations at 4pm today (Friday, 7 November).

The by election was called following the death of Cllr Maggie O’Keefe-Ray and will be held on Thursday, 4 December.

The candidates are Tim Aker (UK Independence Party), John O’Regan (Labour), Eddie Stringer (Independent) and Teresa Webster (Conservative).

Polling stations will be open between 7am and 10pm on 4 December and voters are being asked to check their polling cards carefully as Aveley Public Hall is not being used as a polling station.

Electors who would usually vote there should visit the station at The Rowans, Field Road, off Purfleet Road, instead.

In all, there are four polling stations in the ward: Aveley Methodist Church Hall, Shannon Way; The Rowans, Field Road, off Purfleet Road; The Sycamores, Dacre Avenue; and Hugh Delargy Hall, Wood Avenue, Uplands Estate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.