Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Cricket: Champions! Belhus win national championship at Lords

BELHUS Cricket Club are National Indoor Cricket Champions for 2016 amid euphoric and emotional scenes at Lord’s.

Former England captain Mike Gatting presented the trophy to winning captain Joe Joyce. It was a fitting end as Joyce struck a magnificent half century while Martin Guilbert and Daniel Dreher both reached the compulsory retirement score with 26 and 25, both not out respectively.

This enabled Belhus to reach 115 for the loss of three wickets in reply to Yorkshire’s Whitley Hall score of 114.

It has been an incredible journey for the Belhus team, which started at the Gateway Academy sports hall back in January 2015 and they progressed to three further rounds at the Essex County Ground, as well as emerging victorious in the London and South East finals at Canterbury.

Over 800 teams enter the indoor event annually, which emphasises the scale of achievement by the Belhus team.

In their first match at Lord’s, Belhus met Haverfordwest who were dismissed for 79 after 10.2 overs as Guilbert and Danny Norris picked up two wickets each. In reply, Belhus reached 80 for the loss of two wickets after 9.5 overs. Joy Joyce was undefeated on 27.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles