Monday, May 20, 2024

Thurrock councillor nominated for top award

THE THURROCK councillor credited with a leading role in the re-structuring of how it approaches financial matters has been nominated for a top award.

Shane Hebb

Deputy leader of Thurrock Council, cllr Shane Hebb has been nominated in the category of finance and transformation.

About the Awards

Now in its ninth year, LGiU’s C’llr Achievement Awards brings together the brightest and best councillors from across the country, as well as council leaders, other senior local government figures and MPs, for an evening of celebration and networking against the beautiful background of the Guildhall in London.

We promote nominations from June through to September, gathering over 200 entries from councillor colleagues, local MPs and residents. The shortlist is announced in October and the judging panel will convene before the ceremony in November. The winners will be announced on the night by LGiU Chief Executive Jonathan Carr-West.


The winner in each category will be chosen by our esteemed judging panel, comprised of senior councillors and officers and the winners will be announced at the awards event on 6th November.

LGiU and CCLA’s C’llr Achievement Awards are the only awards celebrating the important work of councillors and the highlight of the year for elected members across England!

This year’s awards will take place on Tuesday 6th November at the Guildhall, London. We will be joined by 200 council leaders, chief executives, councillors and stakeholders for an evening of celebration.

Shortlist 2018: Announced 3rd October

Community Champion

Cllr Steve Criswell – Cambridgeshire
Cllr Samata Khatoon – Camden
Cllr Mark Wilson – Cumbria
Cllr Mahamed Hashi – Lambeth
Cllr TJ Haworth-Culf – Suffolk Coastal
Cllr Daniel Land – Tendring
Cllr Celia Hibbert – Wolverhampton

Finance and Transformation Award

Cllr Peter Patrick – Babergh (JOINT)
Cllr Glen Horn – Mid-Suffolk (JOINT)
Cllr Dominic Twomey­ – Barking and Dagenham
Cllr Shane Hebb – Thurrock
Cllr Abi Brown – Stoke-on-Trent

Health and Care Award

Cllr Aneela Ahmed – Bradford
Cllr Stephen Thomas – Hartlepool
Cllr Clare Mosdell – Isle of Wight
Cllr Michelle Lowe – Sevenoaks
Cllr Marlene Quinn – St Helens

Leader of the Year

Cllr Darren Rodwell – Barking and Dagenham
Cllr Adam Paynter – Cornwall
Cllr Linda Haysey – East Herts
Cllr Christopher Akers-Belcher – Hartlepool
Cllr Janet Walton – Poole
Cllr Roger Lawrence – Wolverhampton

Place-shaping and Environment Award

Cllr Tim Gwilliam – Forest of Dean
Cllr Clive Arthey – Babergh
Cllr Noel Brown – Buckinghamshire
Cllr Gail Harris – Norwich
Cllr Iain Malcolm – South Tyneside
Cllr Victoria Mills – Southwark
Cllr Graham Parker – West Devon (JOINT)
Cllr Bob Baldwin ­– West Devon (JOINT)
Cllr Judy Pearce – South Hams (JOINT)
Cllr Michael Hicks – South Hams (JOINT)

Technology and Digital Award

Cllr Angela Tait – Bradford
Cllr Ian Bates – Cambridgeshire
Cllr Liz Fairhurst – Hampshire
Cllr Shrobona Bhattacharya – South Cambridgeshire
Cllr Nazia Rehman – Wigan

Young Councillor of the Year

Cllr Lorna Russell – Camden
Cllr Jordan Rowse – Cornwall
Cllr Tom Coole – Gloucester
Cllr Jordan Meade – Gravesham
Cllr Kelham Cooke – South Kesteven
Cllr Beverley Momenabadi – Wolverhampton
Cllr Alex Harman – Worthing


  1. Wheres the wanker council of the year award then???
    Surely Thurrock would win that hands down.

  2. If this is the person behind Thurrock councils financial matters. He should be jailed.

    Secret Investors meeting remember?

    This was not put out to the free market.

    Thus was
    Anti free market capitalism as it was not put out to anyone. Anti residents. Anti small and medium sized businesses.
    Anti mom and pup investors. Thus no price discovery.
    It was Anti Capitalist.
    Where was
    Adam Smith’s key principle in the wealth and nations for morality.

  3. The award shouldn’t go to the ventriloquist dummy but to the Council Officer/Officers who come up with the ideas and do all the research quietly behind the scenes. Councillors just usually rubber stamp other peoples ideas but claim all the credit.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles