Saturday, May 25, 2024

Finalists announced for Thurrock Education Awards


Finalists announced for Thurrock Education Awards

THE finalists shortlisted for this year’s Thurrock Education Awards have been announced following an array of nominations from young people, parents and colleagues across the borough this summer.

In total 52 individuals and teams have been shortlisted across the thirteen award categories.

The annual Thurrock Education Awards recognises the fantastic work that takes place in our schools, academies, colleges, sixth forms and early years settings. The awards are fully sponsored by organisations and businesses located in, or connected to Thurrock, the two joint main sponsors for this year’s event are DP World London Gateway and Thames Oil Port.

Councillor James Halden, Portfolio Holder for Education and Health, said “The Education Awards is always an exciting event on the annual calendar and brings together some of the most talented individuals and teams in education from across the borough.

“Once again I find myself looking forward to another evening of celebration for the education we offer in Thurrock, which continues to get stronger each and every year. Good luck to everyone shortlisted in this year’s awards and I hope you enjoy the evening!”

Finalists for the 2018 Education Awards are listed at


The shortlisted finalists for the Thurrock Education Awards 2018 are:

Outstanding early years practitioner
Leanne Knight – Scalliwags Pre School
Claire Holmes – Quince Tree Day Nursery
Laura Weightman – Laura’s Little Lovelies
Jade Humphreys – Willow Garden Day Nursery

Outstanding new teacher
Anna Stoten – Arthur Bugler Primary School
Georgia Keenan – Quarry Hill Academy
Adam Guilbert – Ormiston Park Academy
Emma Absolom – ORTU Gable Hall School

Aspiring leader
Charlotte Boileau – ORTU Gable Hall School
Nella Murthen – Belmont Castle Academy
Laura Robinson – Headstart Day & Afterschool Care
Helen Lavery – Tudor Court Primary School

Innovative and creative teaching
Rhiannon Thomas – The Gateway Academy
Lauren Trunley – William Edwards School
Laura O’Donohue – Grays Convent High School
Karina Latham – ORTU Gable Hall School

Education support
Kerry Girt – Warren Primary School
Aaron Mayo – Treetops School
Sue Maloney – Grays Convent High School
Mel Williams – The Hathaway Academy

Excellence in English
Year 1 Teaching Team – Arthur Bugler Primary School
English Team Led by Rachel Nyland – Grays Convent High School
Samantha Levine – William Edwards School
Emma Pattison – Dilkes Academy

Excellence in science, technologies, engineering and maths (STEM)
Jade Lauircourt – Tudor Court Primary School
Jack Arnold – Abbots Hall Primary Academy
Ash Hamilton – William Edwards School
Tudor Court Digital Leaders – Tudor Court Primary School

Promoting career pathways and apprenticeships
Rachel Trigg – National Citizen Service
Kate Merritt – ORTU Gable Hall School
Sam Bailey – Make Happen
Peter Wiffen – H W Wilson Ltd

Governing board, trust or member
Harris Primary Academy Mayflower Governing Board
Andrew Walker – Osborne Co-operative Academy Trust
Carianne Mailey – Arthur Bugler Primary School
Tim Moore – Harris Academy Chafford Hundred

Cross-school collaboration or community partnership
Teach Thurrock Primary Partnership
Maria Stevens – Thurrock Teaching School Alliance
Harris Primary Academy Mayflower
Amanda Bradley – Beacon Hill Academy

Teacher of the year in primary education
Katherine Seamark – Arthur Bugler Primary School
Amy Coe – Abbots Hall Primary Academy
Becky Wallace – Deneholm Primary
Jade Lauricourt – Tudor Court Primary School

Teacher of the year in secondary education
Pantelis Lakovou – Harris Academy Chafford Hundred
Tom Smith – Treetops School
Jenny Hill – The Gateway Academy
Matt Bowden – William Edwards School

School leader of the year
Louise Coates – Executive Head Teacher – East Tilbury Primary School
Penny Johnson – Headteacher – Grays Convent High School
Nella Murthen – Vice Principal – Belmont Castle Academy
Damian Loneragan Deputy Head Teacher – St Clere’s School


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles