Nigel Farage announces Brexit Party will not stand in Tory seats

Nigel Farage

THE Brexit Party has announced that it will not stand candidates in the 317 seats won by the Conservatives at the 2017 general election.

This includes Thurrock, where the Conservative candidate Jackie Doyle-Price is defending a majority of 345.

South Basildon and East Thurrock Conservatives candidate Stephen Metcalfe defends a majority of 11,490.

Party leader Nigel Farage said standing candidates across the country could increase the chances of another EU referendum taking place.

But he said the party would stand against all other parties – and focus on taking seats off Labour.

He had previously pledged to field more than 600 election candidates.

More follows.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.