Monday, September 26, 2022

Football: Magic Millers make history in FA Trophy

FA Trophy

FA Trophy Second Round

AFC Hornchurch 1 v 2 Aveley

Report courtesy of Aveley FC

A HISTORIC victory for the Millers as they scored a goal in each half to see off Mark Stimson’s Hornchuch at Bridge Avenue to book a place in the last 16 of the Buildbase UK FA Trophy for the first time in our history.

We started the game well as James Goode on his return to the side played in a great ball for Alex Akrofi who saw his looping header well saved by the Hornchurch keeper, Joe Wright. A minute later and Wright was forced into another save but more comfortable after George Sykes headed towards goal.

Three minutes later and the Millers began to dream of a last 16 tie. Alex Akrofi was taken down in the box by Nathan Cooper with the referee pointing towards the penalty spot. Shad Ngandu stepped up and calmly sent the keeper the wrong way and sent the Millers infront at The Bridge. Hornchurch 0-1 Aveley.

The hosts slowly got back into the game as Micky Parcell got down the right wing well before crossing with Jack Mochalski on hand to head the ball clear to safety. Remi Sutton then hit the post straight from a cross but the whistle had already gone as James Goode was fouled in the build-up.

We carried on out-playing the side from the league above and almost doubled our lead through a dangerous free-kick from Jason Raad, it missed everyone but the defender at the back post who chipped the ball into his own keepers’ arms, potential passback, but waved away by the referee.

A long ball over the top was chased down by Alex Akrofi who was in on goal before taken out by the last man, Nathan Cooper, free-kick was awarded but Cooper only saw yellow on this occasion. Jason Raad stepped up to take the free-kick but it was saved well by Joe Wright in the Urchins goal.

Hornchurch came back at us and had a couple of half chances at the end of the first half, George Saunders fired wide and that was followed by Chris Dickson who missed the target. An equaliser did come for the hosts with the last kick of the first half, it was an adjuded to be handball in the box, penalty given, Chris Dickson stepped up and past it down the middle of the goal. Hornchurch 1-1 Aveley.

Half Time | Hornchurch 1-1 Aveley.
Five minutes into the first half and the hosts were down to ten men, a rash challenge from their right back, Mickey Parcell and a straight red card was deservedly given.

Two minutes after that red card and The Millers got back infront. A brilliant cross from Jonathan Nzengo was met by the head of Harry Gibbs who found the back of the net to send the amazing travelling Aveley support. Hornchuch 1-2 Aveley.

The next passage of 20 minutes was a strange one, the hosts resulted in long balls which was defended manfully by a solid wall of blue shirts, throwing themselves at everything, heading everything away.

We countered a few times as Jason Raad first fired a left footed shot wide of the right hand post. Following that was Alex Akrofi forcing Wright into a save, Wyan Reid then raced onto the follow up but his goal bound shot was blocked denying us a third goal. From that block going out for a corner, Jason Raad found George Sykes who just didn’t get the desired connection on the effrot, but the effort clearly struck the arm of Cooper and srambled clear of the goal.

The hosts did have their chances through long balls and throw ins into the box, chances for Charlie Stimson and Marvin Morgan were firstly saved well at the near post by David Hughes and the latter Morgan headed wide of the right hand post.

The History Making Millers saw out the last five minutes with relative control and ease as we secured our place in the last 16 of the Buildbase UK FA Trophy.

Full Time | Hornchurch 1-2 Aveley.

Attendance | 589.

Millers XI | David Hughes, Jonathan Nzengo, Sam Mvemba, James Goode (George Allen 80), Harry Gibbs, Jack Mochalski, Wyan Reid, Shad Ngandu, George Sykes, Jason Raad, Alex Akrofi.

Unused Subs | T.Martin, J.Chawner, B.Hossack, D.Servietis, A.Bragg, J.Scammell (GK).

Hornchurch XI | Joe Wright, Mickey Parcell, Remi Sutton, Arthur Lee (Charlie Stimson 65), Rickie Hayles, Matt Johnson, George Saunders, Jordan Clark (Marvin Morgan 45), Chris Dickson, Ronnie Winn (Joe Christou 84), Nathan Cooper.

Unused Subs | S.Dutton, J.Glenister, S.Hassan, G.Winn.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles