Monday, March 20, 2023

Basingstoke Town 2 v 2 Thurrock

Bill Robinson reports from Camrose….

That elusive win for the Fleet still remains outstanding, in a match that neither side dominated and therefore perhaps a draw was a fair result.

Disappointingly the main talking point of the game was the poor performance of referee Jake Hillier, two wrongs don’t make a right, but that’s how it looked as he and his linesman disallowed a perfectly good Basingstoke goal and then minutes later awarded them a very dubious penalty.

A lethargic performance by both sides in the first half meant little goal scoring opportunities were created. Both sides squandered half chances with the final ball failing to reach its target.

Thurrock opened the scoring after they were awarded a free kick some 25 yards out on the right, Lee Flynn line up the free kick, his shot which was goal bound produced a fine save from keeper Chris Tardif diving to his right but he could not hold onto the ball, as the ball rolled out its was Danny Hart that reacted quickest to flick home his first for Thurrock.

HT 0-1

The game came to life in the second half when the referee controversially awarded two penalties in two minutes, one to each side, both were converted, the first by Rob Rice for Basingstoke on 62 minutes and then Cliff Akurang in the 64th minute to restore Thurrock’s lead.

But they only held onto the lead for another nine minutes, when full back Rob Rice made a run down the right flank his cross was sliced but the ball swerved high and over keeper Joe Woolley for the equaliser.

Basingstoke pushed forward motivated by the equaliser and reduced Thurrock to playing a long ball forward for New Boy Gary Noel and Cliff Akurang to chase, but it proved to be a thankless task.

With four minutes of added time played and still no wining goal Basingstoke were reduced to ten men when Delano Sam-Yorke picked up a second yellow card and was dismissed from the field.

Next week is FA Cup weekend and Thurrock will be entertaining Stamford AFC from the Evo-Stik Div 1 South league, will it to be the first of many rounds !

Thurrock: Joe Woolley, Craig Pope, Lee Flynn, Phil Anderson, Kenny Clark, Max Lette-Jallow, Matt Bodkin, Leon Lalite, Lee Roache, Cliff Akurang, Danny Hart.

Subs: Paul Olima, Gary Noel, Michael Bakare, Conor Okus, Ryan Stalley.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles