Sunday, March 26, 2023

Double delight finale for Hammers

The fans of the Lakeside Hammers are in for a double dose of Speedway action as the Club ends its 2010 season on Friday 15th of October with two meetings for the price of one as a finale to the year.

The London Riders Individual Championship will take centre stage at the Club’s traditional start time of 8pm with the famous names of Hackney, Wimbledon, Wembley and West Ham being represented by riders of the modern times over twelve qualifying heats, a last chance qualifier and Grand Final but before that a new generation of young Hammers will be on the track at 6.30pm to take on the USA Touring Team, featuring a host of exciting young prospects racing over the old style 13 Heat format. The best performing two riders in the opening meeting will transfer into the Individual event.

The team’s poor end to the competitive season will be put to one side as the Club’s Management of Stuart Douglas and Jon Cook take the opportunity to take a look at possible stars of the Hammers immediate and long term future as well as presenting middle order riders of the present team with one last chance to stake a claim in next season’s line up.

The Hammers Co Promoter Jon Cook states: “We wanted to go out with a bang and this is the best way to do it. It’s an exciting way to look at several riders and see the season out properly with the fans. With Lee Richardson and Adam Shields now out for the season we are deliberately building a field of the same level so the racing should be entertaining and the winner unpredictable. Fans of the much missed London teams, plus a few local to us, can see their club’s body colours take to the track one more time and we will be keeping admission prices at normal rates as a thank you to our faithful supporters for sticking with us over the year”.

London clubs being represented will be Hackney, Wimbledon, West Ham, White City, Haringey, Romford, Crayford, New Cross, Wembley, Arena-Essex, Rye House and Lakeside.

Hammers riders on track will include Peter Ljung, Kauko Nieminen, Stuart Robson and Chris Neath plus it’s also hoped that Daniel Davidsson will return for the meeting, whilst early confirmations have been received by Linus Sundstrom and Leigh Lanham (who will represent Arena-Essex) and invitations have been extended to a number of other riders including Kenni Larsen, Kyle Legault and Sam Masters.

The Young Hammers will be led by Lubos Tomicek and include Shane Hazelden  as well as Southend based Ben Morley plus exciting young Frenchmen Xavier Muratet & David Bellego, who are prodigies of Hammers rider and youth coach Paul Hurry, who will manage the team, with injured young Hammers asset Marc Owen as his assistant.

The USA touring team includes a host of young prospects headed by the much trailed Tyson Burmeister as well as veteran showmen Shawn McConnell and Eddie Castro.

Fans can sponsor their club’s body colour or a heat by contacting Hammers General Manager Alan Sargent via email at or by telephone to the Speedway Office on 01708 863443.

Admission Gates to this meeting, which takes place at the Arena-Essex Raceway on Friday 15th October, will open at 5.30pm.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles