Thursday, May 30, 2024

Lakeside Hammers reveal new line-up

Lakeside Hammers have revealed their 2011 line up, with a familiar top four of Lee Richardson, Peter Ljung, Adam Shields and Piotr Swiderski.
Kauko Nieminen and Robert Mear will ride at five and seven respectively reports the BBC.

Stuart Robson and Kyle Legault double-up at number six, meaning every rider has Hammers experience.

Richardson, 31, became a permanent fixture at the Essex Raceway last season, after joining from Elite League rivals Swindon, and this year’s team was always going to be built around his 8.45 green sheet average.

Swede Ljung, 28, made a late switch from the Robins in 2010 on loan before becoming a Hammers asset, and helped turn his new side’s fortunes around.

And while 33-year-old Australian Shields failed to hit his usual heights, the result has been a slightly lower average

Nieminen will be looking to build on his Hammers reputation in his third year at the club, after picking up an average of 6.03 points across 33 meetings last year.

Swiderski joins on loan from local rivals Peterborough while former Ryehouse Rocket Mear, who rode for Lakeside two seasons ago, returns from a venture into grass track racing.

And Robson, who suffered numerous technical issues in 2010, is joined by Canadian Legault, who guest rode for the Hammers once last season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles