Saturday, April 1, 2023

Sports Council backs womens’ cricket in Thurrock

THURROCK Sports Council have agreed to sponsor the third annual Womens’ Indoor six a side cricket competition, which has again been organised by Matthew Walker for the South Essex District Cricket Board.

This year, the event will take place over three consecutive weeks at Gable Hall School, Corringham and, for the first time, there will be three Thurrock-based teams taking part. Belhus, Stanford le Hope and Thurrock will be joining current champions Rayleigh in the four-team tournament.

The event is being taken very seriously, with Belhus Ladies CC hosting a well attended, six-week intensive training programme at Grays School (pictured). The coaching scheme was fully funded by Sportivate, part of Sport England’s Olympic legacy delivery with female coaches Laura Knight and Amy Squires making a significant contribution to the success of the course.

The first round of matches takes place on Thursday 18th April and the event, which is not open to the public, concludes two weeks later. Full fixture list: 18th April: 7pm – Thurrock v. Stanford le Hope; 8pm – Rayleigh v Belhus. 25th April: 7pm – Belhus v Thurrock; 8pm – Stanford le Hope v Rayleigh. 2nd May: 7pm – Belhus v Stanford le Hope; 8pm – Thurrock v Rayleigh. Full competition details, including results and league table will appear on the South Essex District Cricket Board’s website at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles