Thursday, May 30, 2024

Faizal re-elected as chair of Youth Cabinet

FAIZAL Akindele returns for another year as Chairperson of the Thurrock Youth Cabinet with Nathan Lovell continuing as Vice-Chairperson from completing their first year.

Both will ensure the monthly meetings run smoothly, assist with supporting new members and attend a number of events as Youth Cabinet representatives

The Thurrock Youth Cabinet is a group of 24 young people (11-19 yrs) that work hard to ensure young people have a say in decisions that happen locally. Last month saw the Youth Cabinet elect members into key positions for the next 12 months.

Ejaay Manalastas has been successfully elected as the new Deputy Member of Youth Parliament (DMYP). Ejaay who lives in South Ockendon and represents Grays Convent commented;

“I am overwhelmed with excitement and feel extremely honoured for being given this opportunity to be the voice of young people in Thurrock on a national level. I am looking forward to meeting new people with the same burning passion as I do and I am excited to let young people be heard”

James Henderson will be replacing Anne-Marie Ola as Member of Youth Parliament and added: “I hope to represent the young people of Thurrock to the best of my abilities and bring good meaningful change to the community”

James and Ejaay will play a key part in representing Thurrock young people at a regional and national level via events, consultations and campaigns. They will also work with Youth Cabinet members on a number of campaigns including public transport for young people, a school curriculum that includes key life skills and

For any further information on the Thurrock Youth Cabinet (including if you are a young person 11-19 yrs that would like to join) please contact

Pat Kielty, Participation Office at Thurrock Council on 01375 652562 or email


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles