Football: Grays crash out of the FA Cup

FA Cup 3rd Qualifying Round

Grays Ath 0 v 4 Daventry Town

GRAYS made a disappointing exit from the FA Cup as they crashed to a 4-0 defeat against Daventry Town.

The Blues declared their intentions from the first minute when Lee Flynn whipped in a corner that tested the Daventry keeper Richard Morris.

Grays looked in impressive form. A Jared Small shot from twenty yards flashed past the Town goal as Grays looked to impose themselves on the club one league below them.

But this was a dangerous team and only a trademark Junior Baker interception prevented Tom Lorraine from a sight on goal.

The game settled down into a combination of midfield tussles and speculative long balls. However, Daventry went close in the 21st minute when Mykel Beckley stroked the ball across the Grays goal after a fine run.

Daventry had the ball in the back of the net in the 29th minute but it was judged offside.

But there was a dramatic turn on the half hour when Jack West was involved a slight tussle with a Daventry defender but the mere raising of an arm was enough for the referee, Chris O’Donnell who sent him off.

The mountain became higher when Daventry took the lead when Tom Lorraine bundled the ball home from close range in a melee.

Grays saw out the first half but things got worse right after the break when Ryan Howell found space on the right hand side of the box and chipped the ball over Lamar Johnson.

The game felt effectively over for Grays Ath. The Blues continued to keep trying but it was very flat. And Daventry, who are on a fantastic run had the wind in their sails.

To add insult to injury, sub Deqwon Ebanks scored a third with a close header and a further goal in injury time by another sub. Chris Murphy.

Grays Ath: Johnson L, Pope C, Flynn L, Baker J, Anderson P, Maxwell R, Small J (Nightingill J 68), Beaney K, West J, Hammond J, Carlos J.

Subs not used: Greene L, Ramos-Gonzalez, Cruickshank A, Duru C, East D, Gilcrest D.

Daventry Town: Morris R, Wilkinson O, Blake J, Simpson M, Dolman L, Confue A, Oulton R, Howell R, Robinson A, Lorraine T, Beckley T.

Subs not used: Ebanks D, Lustin C, Murphy C, Henderson J, Cartwright K, King N, Gould J.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.