Football: Thurrock primary school squad selected

IN SEPTEMBER, four weeks of football trials were held at St Clere’s Secondary School to select the players that would represent Thurrock in the forthcoming season. Over 50 players from 37 Primary schools in Thurrock attended and eleven boys from nine different primary schools were selected.

Kevin Watts, joint manager said, ‘It was a tough decision to select eleven boys who we felt would follow in the success of previous Thurrock’s teams, but we feel that we have selected a group of boys who will represent their school and Thurrock with pride. District football is played at a very high standard, and we have started our season with some very promising results including recent victories over Hackney and St Albans. Things are looking good for a successful season. The players are all very enthusiastic and want to do their best to bring some silverware to Thurrock and make their school, parents and Thurrock proud.

Steven Crabbe, joint manager said, ‘The boys have worked hard so far this season and are proud to represent Thurrock and all are looking forward to the year ahead especially the annual tour of Jersey for which we welcome any financial support’

The district team play weekly matches on a Saturday in the Essex League, the Gills’ Shield, the Crisp Shield, the Lester Finch Trophy and the prestigious Southern Counties Cup and will be playing teams from across the south of England. The squad of players also attend the FA affiliated Jersey Football Festival where Thurrock play teams from across the country and representatives from Jersey.

The squad consists of : Connor Hart (Tudor Court), Iku Adjaro (St Mary’s), Ben Staerck (Warren), Bradley Sheppard (Abbots Hall), Rhys Cotter (St Joseph’s), Louie Sharkey (Woodside), Jack Smith (Harris), Joey Purdy (Chadwell St Mary),Oliver Johnson (Woodside), Josh Cavangh (Dilkes), Pablo Pessenda-Crichlow (Warren).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.