Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Speedway: Two out of two for Lakeside Hammers

LAKESIDE made it two wins out of two on home shale with a comprehensive 56-34 victory over Leicester at the Arena-Essex Raceway.

The Vortex Hammers recovered from a shaky start to emerge with another convincing triumph after disposing of King’s Lynn by a similar score line a week earlier.

It was once again a powerful performance from the Essex outfit as they accounted for 11 race winners to ensure they came on strong after leading by only two points after six races.

Team coach Kelvin Tatum admitted he was disappointed by their slow start – but he was delighted to see his side respond in perfect fashion to claim three more Elite League points.

Tatum said: "It wasn’t quite as straightforward as we would have liked, and we got off to a scrappy start with only a couple of points in it after heat six.

"We managed to get ourselves organised eventually, and we finished strongly which was very pleasing.

"The final score line was what we were looking for, so we got there in the end and overall it was a solid performance even though it took us a while to get going."

Grand Prix star Andreas Jonsson led by example with a classy paid maximum whilst fellow heat-leaders Kim Nilsson and Lewis Bridger offered excellent support as they suffered just one defeat apiece.

With Piotr Swiderski and Richard Lawson both adding double figures at second string, the Vortex Hammers were led by an in-form top five which overpowered their opponents.

Although Leicester won the battle at reserve through ex-Hammer Adam Ellis and Paul Starke, the home side simply had too much firepower as they continued their encouraging start to the campaign.

They will now look to complete a quick-fire double over the Lions as they travel to Beaumont Park for the return fixture on Saturday (7.30).

LAKESIDE 56: Andreas Jonsson 14+1, Piotr Swiderski 10+2, Richard Lawson 10+1, Kim Nilsson 9+1, Lewis Bridger 7+2, Lewis Kerr 5, Robert Mear 1.

LEICESTER 34: Adam Ellis 11+1, Patrick Hougaard 9, Paul Starke 8+2, Sebastian Ulamek 3, Szymon Wozniak 2, Nicolai Klindt 1, Grzegorz Walasek 0.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles