Monday, March 4, 2024

Former leader of Thurrock Council returns as deputy for Tories

A FORMER leader of Thurrock Council has been selected as deputy leader of the Thurrock Conservative group.

Chafford Hundred and North Stifford councillor, Gary Hague was seated to replace councillor James Halden, who we understand has stepped down due to work commitments.

Cllr Hague was the prospective parliamentary candidate for Thurrock in 2005 and was leader of Thurrock Council between 2009 and 2010.

Despite a low key past four years, Tory leader, Rob Gledhill may find his experience invaluable, especially, if they take over the running of Thurrock Council in a few weeks time.

Both UKIP and Labour held their AGMs and their top teams remain. John Kent and Barbara Rice remain leader and deputy leader of the Labour group.

Graham Snell and Roy Jones remain leader and deputy leader of UKIP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles