Local Election 2018: UKIP MEP Tim Aker to take on UKIP candidate in Aveley and Uplands

THE candidates for the local elections in Thurrock have been announced.

One’s eyes are immediately drawn to the battle in Aveley and Uplands where the (now concentrate), defending candidate is Tim Aker. He won the seat for Ukip but he is standing as a member of the Thurrock Independents (a new party and group formed a few months ago). Tim Aker is still a UKIP MEP. However, one of the four candidates is Peter Curtis and he is standing for UKIP.

UKIP are standing in five wards but strangely they are not standing in Belhus or Ockendon, two of the wards they are, technically, defending. They are, however, standing in Stifford Clays and Stanford East and Corringham Town where the leader and deputy leader of the Thurrock Independents (Graham Snell and Roy Jones) are defending seats that they won when they were Ukip. You still with us?

You may also have noticed that the newly formed Democrats and Veterans Party have a candidate in West Thurrock and South Stifford. He is Chris Boosey, who used to be, yep, you guessed it…UKIP..

The Conservatives, Labour and Thurrock Independents have candidates in all sixteen wards.

There is lots more to discuss. We will, over the next four weeks, have a look at each ward, the issues within and voting patterns.

A reminder of all the candidates.

Aveley and Uplands

Tim Aker (Thurrock Independents)
Peter Curtis (Ukip)
David Van Day (Conservative Party
Rafal Zak (Labour Party)


Chris Baker (Thurrock Independents)
Mike Fletcher (Labour Party)
Georgette Polley (Conservative Party)

Chadwell St Mary

Paul Arnold (Conservative Party)
Barbara Rice (Labour Party)
Paul Stevens (Thurrock Independents)

Grays Riverside

Wendy Herd (Conservative Party)
Martin Kerin (Labour Party)
Shane McDonagh (Thurrock Independents)

Grays Thurrock

Evelina Vulpe (Conservative Party)
Gillian Wardrop (Thurrock Independents)
Lynn Worrall (Labour)

Little Thurrock Blackshots

Jacqueline Dobson (Labour Party)
Ben Maney (Conservative Party)
Oliver Smith (Thurrock Independents)

Little Thurrock Rectory

Lawson Akhigbe (Labour Party)
Rob Gledhill (Conservative Party)
Jay Hayers (Thurrock Independents)


Janet Baker (Thurrock Independents)
Romanus Nwakuna (Conservative Party)
Sue Shinnick (Labour Party)


Barry Johnson (Conservative Party)
James Mower (Thurrock Independents)
Vince Offord (Labour Party)
Adrian Short (Ukip)

South Chafford

Abbie Akinbohun (Labour Party)
Tunde Ojetola (Conservative Party)
Torren Snell (Thurrock Independents)

Stanford East and Corringham Town

Alex Anderson (Conservative Party)
George Elcock (Labour Party)
Roy Jones (Thurrock Independents)
Michael Keal (Ukip)

Stifford Clays

Stephen Andrews (Ukip)
Elizabeth Rigby (Conservative Party)
Graham Snell (Thurrock Independents)
Lee Watson (Labour)

The Homesteads

Gary Byrne (Thurrock Independents)
Daniel Chukwu (Labour Party)
James Halden (Conservative Party)
Peter Prendegast (Ukip)

Tilbury Riverside and Thurrock Park

Allen Mayes (Thurrock Independents)
Bukky Okunade (Labour Party)
Elaine Parker (Conservative Party)

Tilbury St Chads

Steve Liddiard (Labour Party)
Paul Martin (Thurrock Independents)
Steve Minett (Conservative Party)

West Thurrock and South Stifford

Qaisar Abbas (Labour Party)
Chris Boosey (Democrats and Veterans Party)
George Coxshall (Conservative Party)
Michael Wager (Thurrock Independents)

2 Responses to "Local Election 2018: UKIP MEP Tim Aker to take on UKIP candidate in Aveley and Uplands"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.