Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Aveley and Uplands By-election: Details of polling stations

THREE by-elections are underway across south Essex today, with residents heading to polling stations in Southend, Basildon and Thurrock.

A by-election is being held in the Aveley and Uplands ward in Thurrock, with candidates looking to replace Independent councillor Tim Aker, who is also a Member of the European Parliament (MEP). Mr Aker’s departure has been controversial in the borough with some rival councillors recently implying he was removed from his position by the council over his lack of attendance to meetings.

Looking to take Mr Aker’s position will be Charles John Curtis for Labour, David Van Day for the Conservatives, Alan Field for the Thurrock Independents and Tomas Pilvelis for the Liberal Democrats.

In all wards polling stations will be open between 7am and 10pm.

Aveley and Uplands ward, Thurrock polling stations

Aveley Methodist Church Hall, Shannon Way

Aveley Public Hall, Purfleet Road

The Sycamores, Dacre Avenue, Aveley

Hugh Delargy Hall, Wood Avenue, Uplands Estate


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles