Thursday, June 13, 2024

Thurrock Civic Awards

THE GREAT and the good of Thurrock turned out at the Civic Hall on friday night to pay homage to those who have served the community.

The evening’s most emotional moment came with the posthumous award to Lance-Corporal Nicky Mason, who fell in Afghanistan in September 2008.

YourThurrock interviewed Chair of the panel, Cllr Tunde Ojetola as well as several of the winners and nominees.

Special mention goes to Thurrock Council’s Helen Saward who undertook sterling work all year to ensure the awards were the success on the night.

The winners were:

Rebecca Bluemore and Melissa Eades: Young Citizen of the Year

Lesley Kirby: Citizen of the Year

Dennis Parker/Graham Richardson: Lifetime Achievement.

John Scowen: Sports and Culture Award

Wayne Whiskerd: Mayor’s Award

Nicky Mason: Rachel Middleton Memorial Award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles