Countdown to London Riders championship

The preparations for the long awaited return of the London Riders Championship continues with the clock counting down until the event, which takes place at the Arena-Essex Raceway at 8pm this Friday, 15th October.

A change in the opening match of the two meeting event will now see an all star Young Lions team, including the Hammers own Shane Hazelden and managed by former Hammer Phil Morris, take on the USA from 6.30pm.

Meanwhile, the final field for the main event, the London Riders Championship, has faced a few changes due to fixture clashes and it now means a return to action for Hammers fans favourite Henning Bager, who will be travelling over from Denmark to represent the Arena-Essex side with a point to prove in hoping to gain a team place for 2011.

Off track the event will be supported by the Speedway Museum, who will be on hand with a display along with the Backtrack Magazine. In addition to being able to see the old race jackets from the famous old London clubs there will be a special appearance of the original West Ham tractor, which was used to parade the riders on.

The gates at the Raceway will open at 5.30pm with the Young Lions 13 heat match against the American Touring team scheduled to start at 6.30pm. At 7.50pm the riders for the London Riders Individual Championship will be paraded and that will be followed, at 8pm, with the ‘Vultures’ race, which will be for the top two riders from both sides from the opening match.

The top two in this race will then compete in the main event representing New Cross and Haringey. The London Riders Individual Championship will consist of 12 qualification heats with the top two scorers going through to the Grand Final. They will be joined by the winner and second placed rider from a ‘Last Chance’ qualifier, which will be contested by the third to sixth placed scorers.

The winner of the Championship will be the rider who wins the Grand Final.

Normal Lakeside Hammers admission prices will apply for this extravaganza of Speedway, which will see 28 heats of racing. The prices are: Adults – £16, Senior Citizens, Students and Disabled – £12, Unemployed – £10, Children 6 to 16 – £3 with children under 6 free. A special programme for the event will be available at £2.50.

The riders for the Young Lions v Penhall Museum American Touring team are (in alphabetical order):-
Young Lions: Aaron Baseby, Shane Hazelden, Joe Jacobs, Brendon Johnson, Ashley Morris, Kyle Newman (captain) and Oliver Rayson.
USA Tourists: Mike Buman, Tyson Burmiester, Eddie Castro (captain), John Marquez, Shawn McConnell, Robbie Sauer and Bryce Starks.

The riders for the London Riders Individual Championship are (in alphabetical order of the clubs they will be competing for):- Arena-Essex – Henning Bager (Denmark), Crayford – Lubos Tomicek (Czech Republic), Hackney – Peter Ljung (Sweden), Harringay – 2nd in Vultures race, Lakeside Hammers – Kauko Nieminen (Finland), – New Cross – Winner of Vultures race, – Rayleigh – Oliver Allen (Great Britain), Romford – Joonas Kylmakorpi (Finland), Wembley – Chris Kerr (USA), West Ham – Stuart Robson (Great Britain), White City – Cameron Woodward (Australia) and Wimbledon – Ryan Fisher (USA).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.