Thursday, June 20, 2024

Politicians visit Hassenbrook Academy

Hassenbrook A

HASSENBROOK students were delighted to welcome the Rt Hon Stephen Metcalfe MP for South Basildon and East Thurrock and Councillor Sue Little, Thurrock Council Portfolio Holder for Safeguarding. After a comprehensive tour of the Stanford–le-Hope school with the Headteacher, Ms Joanne Williams and the Trust CEO Dr S. Asong, Councillor Sue Little said “I am delighted to see such obvious visible improvements since my last visit and I am confident for the future”.

Honourable Metcalfe also met with the Hassenbrook Academy’s Student Senior Leadership Team led by Head Boy – Blue Mizen, and Head Girl – Jessica Austin, together with the Deputy Head Boy and Girl. What emerged from their discussions was an invitation by Hon Metcalfe for the student Government to visit the Houses of Parliament.

Hon Stephen Metcalfe said “It has been an absolutely delightful day. I am reassured that the actions of the Leadership Team, staff and students are visible when one walks around. I particularly enjoyed visiting the Maths Department and look forward to their active involvement in the STEM (Science, Technology Engineering and Maths) activities about which you know I am so passionate”. “It is good to see the benefits of schools working together to raise standards and aspirations for young people”, he added.

Ms Joanne Williams, Headteacher of Hassenbrook Academy said, “Staff and parents have been extremely supportive of our rapid improvement journey here at Hassenbrook. Our students make us proud every day and we are working closely with the Trust to ensure that students are successful here”

Hassenbrook Academy is a proud partner of The Stanford & Corringham Schools Trust which it joined on 1 September 2016. Since then, the Trust has secured visible successes in improving staffing, leadership, teaching, parental engagement and financial viability. Other schools in the Trust include Corringham Primary, which became Good in October 2016 from Special Measures, and Gable Hall School.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


More articles